From a Distance

Living in time and space, Michelle, just might be the scariest, most heartbreaking, and lonely path an angel could ever choose.

Until, of course, they realize that being scared doesn’t mean they can’t make a difference, broken hearts can still love just fine, and that feeling lonely doesn’t mean they’re actually alone.

Then they’ll laugh an angel laugh, fluff their wings, and dare a new dare all over again.

Love your halo,
The Universe **

The Obstacle is the path.
~ Zen Proverb

One of the worst things about this illness is the isolation.  The almost inevitable disconnect that happens with family and friends when you can’t interact and participate in each others lives.  I’ve really been feeling that lately. That sense of being lost and left behind.  Martha Beck says that, “Isolation creates indescribable despair.”   She’s right.

Most days I really don’t feel well enough to bother with being lonely.  But sometimes, late into the night, when my energy sparks just a little, I can’t help but think of the people in my life – or more accurately, the people who used to be in my life, and wish them all back.  I love mostly from a distance now.  I guess they do the same.  At least I like to think so.

I’ve often asked God in my prayers to teach me to love, and recently, I’ve begun to wonder if He isn’t trying to do just that.  (insert cliche here…you know the one: Be careful what you ask for) In  the best of circumstances, love is a giving and receiving, a mutual exchange, a dance of sorts.  I know how to do that one.  The one I struggle with now, the one I think God’s trying to teach me about, is a more selfless love.  The kind you give without any expectation of return or reward.  That kind of love requires courage and a faithful heart because it can sometimes feel bleak and raw.  You feel exposed somehow offering up your heart that way, dancing all alone.  Still, I offer it. I dance, hoping that I’ll find a new rhythm, and get lost in the act itself, the sheer joy of it, no longer bothering to recall if I’ve had too many partners or too few.  Understanding at last, that when you love, you can never really be alone.  You become as Kahlil Gibran says, “A fragment of Life’s heart.”  And that no distance can ever be too great.

**Taken from an email message I received from: Notes From The Universe **

2 thoughts on “From a Distance

Leave a Reply

