Stillness

No matter what happens to your body, madame,
if your heart is free, you are free.
~Martha Beck

In the attitude of silence, the soul finds the path in a clearer light, and what is elusive and deceptive resolves itself into crystal clearness.
~Mahatma Gandhi

In your lifetime the most sacred space you will ever need to create is the space within yourself — the place deep within your soul where you go to find peace and serenity and to connect with your true self. It’s the quiet place inside where you return over and over again that keeps your thoughts sacred, your heart protected and your dreams alive.
~Nancy SantoPietro

I was writing a friend the other day, replying to an email and her simple question, “…how have you been?” when I found myself sharing with her the experience of letting go or maybe of being let go by life, and the stillness that has come into my world.  How in the beginning I resisted it, thinking I would one day recover my joie de vivre and resume my days, eventually putting this illness behind me.  But when that didn’t happen, I was forced (and I do mean forced) to make friends with the stillness because resisting was just too painful.  And how every few years now, I have a setback and fall further behind, and the stillness grows.  Luckily though, after that first, terrible ravaging, it has come more gradually allowing me time to adapt and accept.  And I can’t help but think that it’s moving me to some great end, or perhaps simply to an end. 😉 But no matter, I recently realized that I am who I’ve always longed to be and how ironic too that it should be the stillness that led me here.

Leave a Reply

