A Time For Love

Since love grows within you, so beauty grows.
For love is the beauty of the soul.
~St. Augustine

One word frees us from all the weight and pain of life: that word is love.
~Sophocles

For me, lately, there have been too many long, dark, tearless nights, and I am weary of the talk of suffering.  I am weary of the urgings for patience and fortitude and acceptance.  I want to speak of love.  I want to, as James Wright says, “Step out of my body and break into blossom.”   But perhaps this is not the season of love, not the time for it.  But then again, perhaps love is more necessary now than ever before.

Leave a Reply

